CS 6824: New Directions in Computational Systems Biology

T. M. Murali

Spring 2011, 2:30pm-3:45pm Mondays and Wednesdays, Randolph 208

Schedule (subject to change throughout the semester)
Note that links in the "Topic and papers" column point to specific papers assigned for each class.
Date Topic and papers Presenter(s) (links point to the presentations)
Wed, Jan 19, 2011 Introduction to Computational Systems Biology T. M. Murali
Mon, Jan 24, 2011 Course Topics and Projects T. M. Murali
Wed, Jan 26, 2011 Course Projects T. M. Murali, same lecture as the previous class
Mon, Jan 31, 2011 Gene function prediction T. M. Murali
Wed, Feb 2, 2011 Gene function prediction T. M. Murali, same lecture as the previous class
Mon, Feb 7, 2011 The state of gene function prediction in Arabidopsis thaliana T. M. Murali, lecture available on Scholar
Wed, Feb 9, 2011 Class cancelled
Mon, Feb 14, 2011 Clustering gene expression data T. M. Murali
Wed, Feb 16, 2011 Clustering gene expression data to find cancer gene modules T. M. Murali
Mon, Feb 21, 2011 Systematic planning of genome-scale experiments in poorly studied species Iman Tamassoly
Wed, Feb 23, 2011 Systematic planning of genome-scale experiments in poorly studied species Iman Tamassoly
Continued from the previous class
Mon, Feb 28, 2011 Link communities reveal multiscale complexity in networks Tozammel Hossain
Wed, Mar 2, 2011 Dynamic interaction networks in a hierarchically organized tissue Akshay Kakumanu
Mon, Mar 14, 2011 Dynamic interaction networks in a hierarchically organized tissue Vinaya Vijayan
Continued from the previous class
Wed, Mar 16, 2011 Midterm project reviews All students
Mon, Mar 21, 2011 Genome-Wide Association Data Reveal a Global Map of Genetic Interactions among Protein Complexes Steve Mason
Wed, Mar 23, 2011 Integrated functional networks of process, tissue, and developmental stage specific interactions in Arabidopsis thaliana Elijah Myers
Mon, Mar 28, 2011 Estimating high dimensional intervention effects from observational data Zhao Zhao
Wed, Mar 30, 2011 Class cancelled
Mon, Apr 4, 2011 Predicting causal effects in large-scale systems from observational data
Continued from the previous class
Christopher Poirel
Wed, Apr 6, 2011 Automated multidimensional phenotypic profiling using large public microarray repositories Mingming Liu
Mon, Apr 11, 2011 SING: subgraph search in non-homogeneous graphs Ahsanur Rahman
Wed, Apr 13, 2011 A predictive model for transcriptional control of physiology in a free living cell
Be sure to read the supplement for this class.
T. M. Murali
Mon, Apr 18, 2011 A predictive model for transcriptional control of physiology in a free living cell T. M. Murali, continued from the previous class
Wed, Apr 20, 2011 A predictive model for transcriptional control of physiology in a free living cell T. M. Murali, continued from the previous class
Mon, Apr 25, 2011 Densely Interconnected Transcriptional Circuits Control Cell States in Human Hematopoiesis Lecong Zhou
Wed, Apr 27, 2011 Class cancelled
Mon, May 2, 2011 A Biological Solution to a Fundamental Distributed Computing Problem T. M. Murali
Wed, May 4, 2011 A Biological Solution to a Fundamental Distributed Computing Problem T. M. Murali, same lecture as the previous class
Tue, May 10, 2011
TORG 3180
Final project presentations

About the Course

Last modified: Mon May 2 14:06:29 EDT 2011