CS1044 : Introduction to Programming in C++
Spring 2001 - CRN 11337/11336 - 8:00/11:15 AM MWF
  Name Email Office Phone Hours
Instructor: Dr. Craig A. Struble cstruble@vt.edu 521 McBryde 231-5914 MWF 9:00-10:30 AM
and by appointment
Teaching Assistant: Margaret Ellis maellis1@csgrad.cs.vt.edu 116/118 McBryde   10-11 a.m., 2-3 p.m. M
12-5 p.m., TH
Teaching Assistant: Amy Tian ytian@csgrad.cs.vt.edu 116/118 McBryde   1-5 p.m. TH
1-3 p.m. F
4-6 p.m. Su
 

Materials
Syllabus
Notepack
My Notes
Homework
Koofers
Programming Assignments
Programming Standards
Assignment Submission
Course Policies
GTA Lab Hours
Grades (8 a.m.)
Grades (11 a.m.)
Mailing List Archives
Mr. Barnette's Lectures

Links
C++ FAQ LITE
Frequently Asked Questions
The ISO/ANSI C++ Standard
C++ Standards site
C++ Annotations
on-line C++ book
A quick introduction to C++
Visual C++ Start Page
Microsoft's Visual C++ home

Tests 1 and 2
Wednesday, May 2, 2001
Tests 1 and 2 with their answer keys have been posted.

Exam Review
Thursday, Apr. 26, 2001
The specification and program code for the exam review is now posted. Please download, print, and review for the next two class periods. I'll be asking questions similar to what you'll see on the exam, and you should bring questions to ask after you read the code.

Final Exam
Thursday, Apr. 19, 2001
The final exam for both sections is on Tuesday, May 8 from 1:05-3:05 p.m. The exam will be held in Squires Colonial. You will not be allowed to make up the exam if you forget what room it's in, so be sure to make a note that we will be in a different room!

Lab Closure
Thursday, Apr. 19, 2001
The McBryde 116/118 lab will be closed on Friday, April 20. Be sure to plan accordingly.

Project 10
Thursday, Apr. 19, 2001
Project 10 has been posted. It is due Friday, April 27 at 23:59.59. Note that the sample output is currently wrong! I'll post another message when it's corrected.

Homework 4
Wednesday, Apr. 18, 2001
Homework 4 has been posted and is due April 25, 2001 in class.

Grades
Monday, Apr. 16, 2001
Grades through project 7 have been posted. Please let me know ASAP if there are any problems.

Project 9
Thursday, Apr. 12, 2001
Project 9 has been posted and is due Friday, Apr. 20, 2001 at 23:59.59. There will be no extensions given, so make sure you start early on this project.

Koofers and HW3 Update
Monday, Apr. 2, 2001
A minor update to questions 7, 8, and 9 for HW3 has been posted. Also koofers for test 2 have been posted.

Homework 3
Friday, Mar. 30, 2001
Homework 3 is posted and is due in class on Wednesday, Apr. 4, 2001.

Many Items
Wednesday, Mar. 28, 2001
The Program 7 due date was changed to Friday, March 30, 23:59.59. Test 2 will be on Friday, April 6. Program 8 has been posted and is due Tuesday, April 10 at 23:59.59.

Program 7
Wednesday, Mar. 21, 2001
Program 7 has been posted and is due on Wednesday, March 28 at 23:59.59. Pay special attention to the requirements for this project.

Homework 2
Friday, Mar. 16, 2001
Homework 2 has been posted and is due in class on Wednesday, March 21. Opscans are available from my office and in class.

Grades and Project 6
Tuesday, Mar. 13, 2001
Project 6 has been posted and it's due Thursday, March 22 at 23:59.59. Also, grades have been updated.

Project 5
Monday, Feb. 26, 2001
Project 5 has been posted and it's due Friday, March 16 at 23:59.59.

Grades
Friday, Feb. 16, 2001
Grades have been posted. The grades are listed by the last 5 digits of your student ID. Please make sure to check your grades and verify that they are correct.

Project 4
Wednesday, Feb. 14, 2001
Project 4 is posted and is due Friday, Feb. 23 at 11:59.59 p.m.

Koofers
Wednesday, Feb. 14, 2001
Koofers for test 1 are available from the "Koofers" link to the left. The Fall 2000 test is the one that will be most similar to what you'll see.

Test 1
Monday, Feb. 12, 2001
Test 1 will be on Wednesday, Feb. 21.

Homework 1
Monday, Feb. 12, 2001
Homework 1 has been posted and is due in class Friday, Feb. 16. You may pick up opscan forms in class or from my office, McBryde 521.

Program 3
Friday, Feb. 9, 2001
Program 3 has been posted and more test data is available. The program is due Wednesday, Feb 14, 2001.

More Test Data
Friday, Feb. 2, 2001
More test data has been posted for the second programming assignment.

Program 2
Tuesday, Jan. 30, 2001
Programming assignment 2 has been posted. It is due Wednesday, Feb. 7, 2001 at 11:59.59 p.m.

Recorded Lectures
Monday, Jan. 29, 2001
I've included a link to Mr. Barnette's lectures in case you are interested in having a different perspective/lecture to help you understand the CS1044 material.

Home Exercises
Monday, Jan. 29, 2001

The notes for problem solving including two algorithms for calculating change and some of the notes for language basics have been posted. Please be sure to bring your trace of the two change machine algorithms for -137 cents to class on Wednesday. Make sure to include your work with your answers.

Also, you should work through the identifier exercise and bring in your answers on Wednesday.

You may work with other students on these exercises.


GTA Hours
Thursday, Jan. 25, 2001
The hours for the GTAs in the McBryde 116/118 lab are now online. Margaret and Amy's hours are listed above and the hours for the lab as a whole are given by following the link to the left. You can meet with ANY CS1044 TA in the lab to get help. Be sure to take a look at the pictures of the GTAs so that you know whom to look for.

Course Agreement Forms
Monday, Jan. 15, 2001
The course agreement form must be filled in and returned in class by Friday, January 19. Failure to return the form will result in being dropped from the course. Note that the printed forms have a mistake about the statute of limitations. You have only one week to complain about a grade.

Programming Assignment
Monday, Jan. 15, 2001
The first programming assignment has been posted and is available from the Programming Assignments link on the left. The assignment is due at 11:59.59 p.m. on Wednesday, January 31.

Welcome
Monday, Jan. 8, 2001
Welcome to the Spring 2001 offering of CS1044: Introduction to Programming in C++ by Dr. Struble. This web site will contain important information regarding the course throughout the semester. Be sure to check here frequently.