Re: THE EXAM

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ CS1044 Web Discussion Board ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Barry on December 20, 2001 at 10:35:37:

In Reply to: THE EXAM posted by wayne on December 20, 2001 at 04:55:27:

: hey
: i don't know what's wrong with you people. the instructors basically baby sit all of you the entire semester and then you can't wait to get online and complain about the final.

First off, Wayne, this is the only place we can complain about the final because sending mass emails probably would not do us a bit of good. However, when you notice a trend of 30 messages a day about how hard the final was, I guess a concensus is coming about this thing. Maybe you are a great programmer, but I am a beginner, as are others in this course, who felt this exam was much more difficult than the designs of the tests and koofers.

: for those of you who are whining about the 3 page program example with 9 questions...use what little brain power you have and tear out the pages that the code is on and lay them out. if it's front and back, then go ask for another copy of the exam. that way you don't have to do all the "rather tedious flipping" back and forth. even though flipping is very, very hard work...

Second of which, I just feel that having a 3 page example was still a tedious piece of information. It was a lot of information and it required us to do a lot of difficult work and so forth; it just seemed a bit irrational.

: i will admit, there were some hard parts to the exam and some things didn't make sense, such as passing the global constant to a function. yes, global constants are global for a reason, but they can't just hand you an A on the FINAL EXAM. an A in almost any college level course is hard to get, so you the students must use your brains to get there.